Skip to content

Learning Areas

There are seven areas of learning by which our pre-school’s curriculum is organized, to ensure children make all round development in this important stage of their lives.

The Prime Areas develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences. They support and scaffold the Specific Areas which include essential skills and knowledge to ensure that children have the best possible start to their learning journey.

None of these areas can be delivered in isolation from the other. They are equally important and depend on each other.

All areas are delivered through a balance of adult-led and child-initiated activities.

Prime Areas

Communication and Language Development

Involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Specific Areas

Literacy Development

Involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.